Skip to content

Still kicking

May 12, 2014
tags:

No, no—I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth. I am, thankfully, still around!

It’s been quite a while since my last post, as I’ve been busy in the Great Race for Money. Yeah, it eats up a lot of my time—but I feel grateful that I have clients who are willing to pay me money for work (I’m a freelance graphic designer). There are instances when the work is a deluge, and that doesn’t leave me with much energy for the personal projects I do with the love of creating. When that old salt “It’s feast or famine” rings true for client work, you’ve got to be thankful for the feasts to carry you through the famines (storing up those acorns here and there). Yep, there have been slow times in my work, and while they allow more time for my personal projects, they’re not the greatest for bringing in cash flow.

Work’s going to be relatively slower until June, and I’m looking to get back into posting more stuff. I’ve certainly missed posting! I’ve been still scrawling down my thoughts and images in my sketchbook, and I’m also grateful for those relaxing creative breaks to relish in letting my imagination go, making mistakes, and doing stuff not for a client’s or an editor’s approval. Just simply making my own odd drawings and poems and very short stories. It’s good, serious fun.

So, I’ll be getting back into posting here. I’m not going to go all crazy and push for a schedule like I’ve done before—since responsibilities outside of this blog will still need to be juggled. But I’m really looking forward to getting back into being more active here.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog! Hopefully, you’ll like the new stuff I come up with… πŸ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue permalink
    May 12, 2014 5:59 pm

    you’ve been missed; but good things come to those who wait.

  2. May 12, 2014 6:59 pm

    Hmm…I’d thought you’d decided to join those guys in the stream and do a little fishing for awhile. πŸ™‚ Glad to hear things are going well and you are well…Cheers!

    • May 13, 2014 9:34 am

      Though it does look calming out there in the stream, being in nature and enjoying the stillness. Or maybe I’m just romanticizing it πŸ™‚

  3. May 13, 2014 6:45 am

    Our ‘real’ life must always come first. I was cranking out several posts a day in April for National Poetry month. But I still have my grandchildren to watch…and now with the better weather, yard clean up. So I’m taking it just a tad slower this month myself.

    Thanks for stopping by and continued success in all you do.

    • May 13, 2014 9:35 am

      Thanks Jules. I admire you for churning out several posts a day for April! But it’s certainly a trick to juggle various activities. I hope your yard clean-up goes quickly!

Leave a Reply

