Skip to content

The First Step to Fame and Fortune (flash fiction)

January 2, 2014

Tree Climbing Poppy by  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields' daughter-in-law

“Coast is clear!” Flynn called down from the branch. “Get your knapsack!”

     Kate did just that as the dog scampered down the tree, then she said, “Sandwiches, check. Money for bus passes, check. List of friends who won’t rat us out and’ll let us crash on couches, check.”

     Flynn, tail wagging like mad, barked out: “First, Westminster! Then the National Show! Then the American Kennel Club! Triple crown, baby. Fame and fortune’ll finally be ours, Katie.”

     “Shh! We’ll get caught!”

     “Sorry, got carried away. C’mon, say good-bye to your old life.”

     “This place can’t hold us any longer. Let’s go!”

 


Once again, a bit of time has gone by since I’ve responded to the Friday Fictioneers’ prompt. Many other things have pulled on my attention, but I had to join in this week for the really neat photo above. It’s not every day you see a dog in a tree. It looks so proud up there. Check out the link below if you’d like to join the fun and write your own story. Also, please read the other stories from the many talented writers.

Friday Fictioneers prompt given by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Many thanks, Rochelle, for your work in posting the prompts! For other stories inspired by this photo, click here.
Photo copyright Rochelle’s daughter-in-law
Story copyright Dave Williams

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2014 5:01 am

    This is going to be one BIG adventure! Nicely done.

    • January 3, 2014 5:43 am

      Thanks Sandra, and I also bet that these two will find much adventures to get into.

  2. January 2, 2014 5:19 am

    Good one Zooky, enjoyed the checklist especially.. Well done.

  3. January 2, 2014 6:22 am

    Dear Dave,

    This has the earmarks of a TV series I think. Enjoyable read. Welcome back.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • January 3, 2014 5:42 am

      Thanks Rochelle! I think this would make a charming TV show. After all, everyone likes a cute and talented dog!

  4. January 2, 2014 9:16 am

    Nice to have you back, Dave. Real life has a way of intruding at times, doesn’t it. As for your story, I think Flynn has a great shot at winning the most talented dog competition.

    janet

    • January 3, 2014 5:41 am

      Thanks Janet — it’s nice to be back. And I agree with you that this clever pup would do a great job in a talent contest!

  5. January 2, 2014 9:46 am

    I like your dog Flynn. I would follow him too!

    • January 3, 2014 5:40 am

      Thanks Dawn! This pup is not just clever at climbing trees, but enthusiastic and ambitious as well!

  6. January 2, 2014 10:47 am

    This is the start of a glorious adventure. I’d love to see where it goes.

    • January 3, 2014 5:39 am

      I’m not so sure I’ll write a longer story, but I very much agree: there’s adventure to be had for these ambitious two.

  7. January 2, 2014 12:43 pm

    My practical mind throws out all kinds of comments, of which the first would be, this is a very precocious two-year-old! What’s in the sandwiches?

    • January 3, 2014 5:38 am

      A very talented dog and a very precocious two-year-old. Lots of dreams in their eyes. And lots of peanut butter and jelly in their sandwiches. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  8. January 2, 2014 1:29 pm

    I’m still smiling as I think about the photo combined with your text….and how did that dog get up there?

    • January 3, 2014 5:37 am

      Glad you liked it — and that dog is quite talented to pull off the trick of climbing that tree!

  9. January 2, 2014 3:38 pm

    oh I love this — I can see there will be BIG thing coming up for them…

  10. January 2, 2014 4:42 pm

    Good story, Dave. Maybe they should start Human Shows where dogs put people through the paces then hand us little treats. I think our dog (Buster) already has my wife trained pretty well.

    • January 3, 2014 5:36 am

      Your comment has me laughing — I can see dogs walking humans on leashes!

  11. January 2, 2014 6:43 pm

    Now that’s one smart dog. I’d like him to be my business manager….

  12. January 2, 2014 8:12 pm

    Want to know if they make it.

    • January 3, 2014 5:34 am

      Not sure if I’ll extend this to a longer story, but I kinda have my doubts about them winning all three dog shows. But then, if they were based on talent, then this clever pup would win lots of contests.

  13. January 3, 2014 8:32 am

    Oh, I love it! Katie and Flynn, against the world. This could make an enjoyable mini series, I think.

    • January 4, 2014 6:11 am

      Not sure if I’ll write a series with these guys, but you never know. Thanks Miss Tiffany!

      • January 4, 2014 7:21 am

        Well there’s always the possibility. Even if you don’t they still make a great little story!

  14. January 3, 2014 9:18 am

    Hitting the road! Love that. Great dialogue.

  15. January 3, 2014 8:53 pm

    i’m smiling just from thinking of all the adventure that they’re gonna have! so much fun 🙂 happy 2014

  16. January 3, 2014 9:36 pm

    Welcome back, Dave! Wonderful story filled with good dialogue, whimsy and adventure. I like it! Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

