Skip to content

A pleasant day outside

December 9, 2013

A pleasant day outside painting, of houseplant and window showing grass, cow, and tree outside

It felt really good to get back into painting for this small (4″ x 6″) work. Maybe going small is a good way for me to re-start painting, as it’s been a while since I did it regularly. Lao Tzu, you said it so well about taking just one step to start a journey. Frequently, my journey has included detours and me stopping and simply looking around. But it’s really helpful to look back and see how far I’ve come. I’ve felt much more confident in my drawing than I did when I started this blog four years ago. So let’s see how it goes with jabbing some paint down.

     Back to this particular painting’s journey… it’s my donation to Postcards from the Edge, which is an exhibit coming to the Luhring Augustine Gallery in the Chelsea neighborhood of New York City. If my painting is given a thumbs-up, it’ll go up for sale with other postcard-sized artworks during January 24-26, 2014. Proceeds from this exhibition will go to Visual AIDS, which is an organization that, to quote their website, “utilizes art to fight AIDS by provoking dialogue, supporting HIV+ artists, and preserving a legacy, because AIDS is not over.”

     Many thanks go to Artist Marketing Resources for posting this call for artwork—as well as for the work you do to post many other calls for submissions.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2013 11:14 am

    A wonderful cause to take part in…have a great week.

  2. December 10, 2013 12:04 am

    that piece is ace. I would buy it!

  3. December 10, 2013 11:03 am

    Really quite lovely. I dabble in small crafts, but haven’t gotten into painting at all. Would they (They being the organisation be raising funds) or Postcards from the Edge, also be making postcard reproductions of the postcard paintings? Say 5 or 10 reproductions in a pack (that maybe the buyer could choose?) or sell individual post card reproductions for say $1. I’d get a few including yours that way!

    Here’s a haiku for your painting:

    peaceful grazing cow
    farm house window has an eye
    for beautiful things

    ©JP/davh

    I hope it raises funds for Visual AIdS. I used to live in NYC…many, moons ago.

    Not everyone has notifications turned on so I thought I’d visit and copy and paste my reply about books.

    I think you might enjoy http://www.bookcrossing.com
    While I am not as active as I once was I still have an account there as JulesPaige.
    That is where I got into social media and then got into blogging because of the people I met there.
    Not quite ‘literary littering’ but more along the lines of to ‘Set Books Free’ – take a look you might enjoy it.
    Each book gets a registration number and if folks ‘report’ or journal’ it you can follow where the book travels –
    all around the world.

    There is also a new trend about having little ‘libraries’ for take or trade in weatherproof boxes right at the end of your driveway.
    But I forget the exact name of it.

    Cheers, Jules

    • December 10, 2013 1:10 pm

      Hi Jules, I’m not sure about the gallery putting on the Postcards show also selling reproductions. I didn’t see that mentioned on their website (or on Visual AIDS’s website), so I doubt it.

      Thank you for your haiku of my painting! Lovely, lovely. I really like the window as an eye.

      Very cool idea about Bookcrossing! My practice was very low-tech compared with this. But this has the huge advantage of following your book if folks add in the book’s number to the website. This may be a fun way for my family to send off some books like bottles in a stream.

      I remember reading about personal libraries starting up, maybe on CNN.com or the like. Also a very neat trend. Folks sharing the love of printed books — I love it.

      Thanks for your wonderful comment!

Leave a comment