Skip to content

Minimalist posters

November 22, 2013

I’m a big fan of minimalist design. To distill something down to the essence is akin to creating a logo and writing poetry, and it’s really impressive when done well. This is true with minimalist posters —for examples check out brainpicking.org’s article with ones of classic children’s literature and a Tumblr showcasing minimalist posters of movies.

But what if the minimal goes too far? What if the concept being represented becomes too abstract? The design could become so hard to figure out that the poster needs an explanation to accompany it; otherwise, the viewer is left scratching his/her head and thinking, “Huh?” Some examples might be these…

Minimalist poster of Thor smiting his enemies

Minimalist poster of the dangerous seduction of vampires

Minimalist poster of regrowth of trees after forest fire

Minimalist poster of a circle at a party jealous of another circle

Minimalist poster of being given all your dreams

Minimalist poster of the four seasons

For the last one, I didn’t add a title because I wanted to put it up for sale at Society6, and I wasn’t sure if someone may buy it and toss it up on their wall would want a label on it. Wanna guess what the abstract design depicts? Hint: nature.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2013 6:26 am

    I think it is the seasons

    • November 22, 2013 6:32 am

      You got it! The virtual gift basket goes to you. Share the cookies as you feel necessary. Thanks for swinging by, Alastair.

      • November 22, 2013 6:35 am

        Yay cookies 😀 [roots around for chocolate chip one] hehe

  2. November 22, 2013 10:58 am

    The one about the circle party made me giggle! What great ideas. And for the record, I’d totally hang up a “labelled” minimalist poster on my wall. I think there can be a certain charm (and humor) to that.

  3. November 23, 2013 6:45 pm

    Oh…you have provided a excellent examples of minimalist designing gone near the end of the continuum of comprehension. 🙂

  4. November 25, 2013 2:46 pm

    Is the last one something to do with the seasons? I am a fan of minimalist design, and I’ve seen some pretty sweet minimalist posters, but you’re right, at a certain point they might just be too minimal. I’m with Michelle though. I think I would hang up a labeled minimalist poster just for giggles!

  5. November 27, 2013 12:15 pm

    I was going to say the four elements- earth, air, fire, water but that’s just the wicca in my talking. Great posters.

  6. December 9, 2013 9:59 am

    These are FANTASTIC haha!

Leave a Reply

