Skip to content

Husband Version Three (flash fiction)

November 21, 2013

Mannequin parts by Sean Fallon

Charlie blinked at the stranger in his living room. It didn’t compute.

     Zoey kept explaining: “You’re actually my third model. Good to upgrade every so often, keep up with the improvements. Amazing how technology keeps creating features you never thought you needed.”

     Charlie gaped. “You … mean … I’m a … robot?”

     “Slower than I thought, too. Men pretty much made themselves extinct, so we’re giving robots a go. This is Doug, my new model.”

     Doug’s smug grin. “With faster processor and more self awareness.”

     “Where will I go?” Charlie asked.

     Zoey waved this off. “Always a market for used models.”


Friday Fictioneers prompt given by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. For other stories inspired by this photo, click here.
Photo copyright Sean Fallon
Story copyright Dave Williams

34 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2013 6:05 am

    Nice one Zooky, well done, a used robot market, why not.

  2. November 21, 2013 7:31 am

    Ah, Robots. Gotta love them.

  3. November 21, 2013 9:50 am

    loved this. poor Charlie, though. great take on the photo. 🙂

  4. November 21, 2013 10:12 am

    That was a good one, Dave. I think this would work better as “Doug grinned smugly”, rather than ” Doug’s smug grin.” What do you think? The complete sentence keeps the flow going, too.

    janet

    • November 21, 2013 5:48 pm

      I can totally see your point about that sentence. I’m apt to make lots of mistakes. I do like “Doug grinned smugly” for the grammatical correctness of it — but I prefer “Doug’s smug grin” for the visual slap in the face it gives poor Charlie. Thanks for reading, Janet!

  5. November 21, 2013 1:08 pm

    Hi Dave,
    Tossed on the scrap heap, or at least the recycling bin. How much does Gazelle pay for an outdated robot. More importantly, when do the female models come out? Great, imaginative story. Ron

    • November 21, 2013 5:50 pm

      Good questions… I’m not sure how much the used robots cost or when the females come out. But maybe the females are not needed? Thanks for stopping by and reading, Ron!

  6. November 21, 2013 1:44 pm

    I see what you did with the last line. Very subtle. Good one : )

  7. November 21, 2013 6:27 pm

    this was a good little piece!

  8. November 21, 2013 8:45 pm

    Our throw-away society with robotic husbands. This may be for future for us men. We’d better stay on our toes. This was a great read.

  9. November 21, 2013 8:55 pm

    This was a great story!!! There’s not much market for used ex-husbands, so I’m glad to hear there could be one for used ex-robot-husbands. Makes my female heart smile 🙂

  10. November 21, 2013 9:03 pm

    Dear Dave,

    Ah The Stepford Husbands. Sounds like turnabout to me. 😉 I guess, thought, I’ll keep the human model I have. Fun story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. November 22, 2013 2:12 am

    Nice concept. Did I say that??? Well done.

  12. November 22, 2013 8:17 am

    Aw, poor Charlie! Sounds like Zoey is never satisfied. Good piece.:)

  13. November 22, 2013 6:33 pm

    Do they have robots like that for girl friends? How often can you trade them in? And you’re sure they can be programmed to hate shopping? Many intriguing prospects here ….

  14. November 22, 2013 11:52 pm

    And we thought it was pretty easy to get a divorce in our times–in Zoey’s world, all you have to do is put out a “For Sale” sign.

  15. November 23, 2013 11:37 pm

    Like the twist you’ve put into this piece.

  16. November 24, 2013 8:32 am

    I knew men would eventually screw up on a massive scale! Super fun story.

  17. November 24, 2013 11:58 am

    Very good… Myself I got an upgrade and new software.. so I’m still not for sale.

  18. November 25, 2013 1:20 am

    I remember when i was young and so secure in my marriage, naively believing that no one else would have him. Nut I was wrong, there’s always a market…;)

  19. November 25, 2013 2:58 pm

    Haha this is awesome. My favorite take on the prompt that I’ve read so far! Nice job.

  20. November 26, 2013 8:03 am

    That would be a confusing sensation, to realize you’re a robot, and an obsolete one at that.

  21. November 27, 2013 7:19 am

    Ouch! Poor guy, and he never even knew. Good story Zooky, and a warning to us guys! 🙂

  22. November 27, 2013 12:17 pm

    Oh my God! Love this. If I were eating cornflakes I’d have laughed them out my nose.

    • November 29, 2013 7:29 am

      I really like that image — thank you for that, and your wonderful words!

Leave a Reply

