Skip to content

Totem

September 18, 2013

Owl Totem graphic

When I read Illustration Friday’s prompt “Totem,” I first thought of totem poles, which has a lot of potential for some really neat graphics. But I decided to focus on one animal rather than a stack of them. Also, I tried out a different style, one where the animal is created by a collection of shapes—something along the lines of Northwest American Indian art.

For the other responses to this Illustration Friday prompt, click here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2013 8:12 am

    Very nice interpretation of the bird. I like the colors too.

  2. September 18, 2013 10:40 am

    Really love how you’ve “assembled” the owl in pieces. Very cool!

  3. September 18, 2013 11:09 am

    I really like what you did with that graphic theme and how you did it.

  4. September 20, 2013 12:29 pm

    I love this! I like the idea of Illustration Friday too. I might have to have this out…

    • September 21, 2013 7:20 am

      I definitely encourage trying out the Illustration Friday prompt… like fiction prompts, it causes me to think up ideas that I usually wouldn’t in my regular sketching & writing.

      • September 23, 2013 9:02 am

        Same here. And with the 100 constraint on the fiction prompt…it really challenges me to write something good. I’m looking forward to checking out the Illustration Friday prompt!

Leave a Reply

