Skip to content

Souvenir Display (flash fiction)

September 5, 2013

Souvenir Display by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Of course I display them, how could I stuff them in a drawer somewhere, where they’d be forgotten in the dark? No, no, no, these souvenirs—I hate the term “knick knacks”—need to be out where I can see them everyday. I buy one whenever I go someplace, something small to help me remember the trip. I take photos, too, lots of them—they’re in albums on the bookcase next to you. Chock full of memories, and I need to keep my memories alive; otherwise, what else do you really have? What did you say your name was again?

 


Friday Fictioneers prompt given by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. For other stories inspired by this photo, click here.
Photo copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields herself!
Story copyright Dave Williams

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2013 8:01 am

    Well done here

  2. September 5, 2013 8:34 am

    Dear Dave,

    And that’s the way it goes….

    Well captured…for now.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. September 5, 2013 9:00 am

    Dear Dave,

    This is one to be remembered. But now I’ve forgotten. Nice one. Love the ending line.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. September 5, 2013 10:11 am

    That’s a really effective final line. Well done.

  5. September 5, 2013 12:02 pm

    He sounds like one of those people who open up about their whole life as soon as you meet them. Ron

  6. September 5, 2013 12:25 pm

    Interesting twist at the end.

  7. September 5, 2013 1:25 pm

    Lovely melody in this 🙂

  8. September 5, 2013 3:00 pm

    I agree with Ron sounds like someone who tells you their whole life in the first five seconds. Could be a kidnapper/serial killer as well, after all this is FF.

    Tom

  9. September 5, 2013 3:18 pm

    Love the twist at the end…but then again, I am at the age when I’m wondering if my memory will go any minute now!

  10. September 5, 2013 6:29 pm

    I really like this, well because I have too much stuff. I’m thinking about trying to forget where I got some of it so I can make room for more… 🙂

  11. September 6, 2013 7:48 am

    Very effective, and great last line 🙂

  12. September 6, 2013 5:04 pm

    Very delightful and you made me laugh. So many of these stories this week are about lost memories, but laughing about it, eases the pain. What was I laughing about again?

    • September 8, 2013 6:56 am

      Thanks for the kind words… smiling and laughing do seem to ease pain.

  13. September 6, 2013 5:29 pm

    We all get tied up in our own little universe, don’t we. Now, who’s blog is this . . . .

  14. September 7, 2013 5:47 am

    The narrator really needs souvenirs:) and last line was the best

  15. September 8, 2013 12:22 am

    Witty!

  16. September 8, 2013 6:26 am

    Such a clear portrait of what can become of old minds.

  17. September 8, 2013 4:02 pm

    exactly.. sounds like me…

  18. September 9, 2013 8:04 am

    I saw the humor, but (having had some experience with Alzheimer’s patients in my past) with a touch of sadness as well – nicely played, and very well written!

Leave a Reply

