Skip to content

New schedule

July 15, 2013

I started this blog more than three years ago to try to jump start my creativity, to do more writing and drawing. And I hoped having a blog would help me grow the confidence to move my drawings and poems from my sketchbook to publishing my work.

This blog has helped me accomplish those, and some things have come up that I didn’t expect: discovering painting (which I’ve taken a break from, it’s hard to fit everything in) and re-discovering fiction writing. The photo prompts given by Friday Fictioneers, Alastair’s Photo Fiction, and VisDare have been neat challenges to come up with stories inspired by the photos and keep the writing within a word limit. If you’re interested in writing fiction, I highly recommend joining in–it’s a lot of fun.

This blog certainly has jolted me into spending more time with my sketchbook, of mashing out cartoons, poems, and stories–or jotting down ideas for others. However, somewhere along the way, I developed the bad habit of completing a cartoon in my sketchbook, but never publishing it on my blog. Or starting a poem/story/cartoon/T-shirt design and never going back to finish it.

All those unpublished and unfinished projects have moved me to take the leap to returning to a schedule of posting. Right now, I think I need that discipline of a regular schedule to make sure projects complete the circle and end up being published here.

So I’m going to start posting five days a week. I want to make these personal projects into more of a schedule of a full-time job, Monday through Friday.

Many blogs out there post seven days a week for a year, and I admire their endurance to come up with something every day for that long. Some bloggers keep up that pace for more than a year, including C.W. Martin’s Read Between the Minds blog. I’ve been following his blog for about three years, and I’m continually impressed by his photo-poem posting every single day. Every day, a poem that packs a lot of power and vivid imagery. Now that’s serious stick-to-it-ness.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to keep up the 5-day-a-week schedule. It’s another challenge like the ones this blog has been giving me for a while. So be prepared for more childish drawings of corny/weird humor, flash fiction, goofy poems, and random photos.

A big thank you to all those folks who are following my blog. Your likes and comments are very much appreciated. I hope my posts give you a smile or a laugh … or maybe you’ll scratch your head and say “huh?”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2013 11:11 am

    Thanks for you kind words…as I have said before…I really love the way your mind works…so very creative…cheers!

  2. July 15, 2013 2:28 pm

    Continued success with your goals. For me writing is enjoyable, but then I’m also not getting paid to do it. There are so many great prompts. But besides posting small verse daily – I’ve had to pick and choose.

    Enjoy your any time that you are ceative. My small daily verse are here (but no obligation, perhaps some inspiration?):
    http://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/

    • July 16, 2013 6:53 am

      Thanks for the link to your daily verse — I’ll definitely check it out. It’s neat to read new stuff.

  3. July 15, 2013 11:48 pm

    I cant wait to read all of your posts … 5 days per week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

