Skip to content

Very bad trip

June 11, 2013

Bus ad for "Very Bad Trip 3" - French for Hangover 3

 

Some buses in Paris have
an ad for the movie “Very Bad Trip 3”
and that makes me wonder
why there’s no French word
for “Hangover” in a place
famous for wine, but maybe
they would counter that
they drink in moderation.
What about times of kicking
back more than a few? Surely,
the French have had hangovers
and woken up in some
random hotel room or dirty alley
with a throbbing head and a
spotty memory of the
previous night’s
events.

I suppose it would be
a very bad trip to the movies
if you didn’t find the movie
all that funny or enjoyable or
if your date argued with you
because you only want to see
what she calls flimsy, silly
movies about nonsense,
and not meaningful films
about women stuck in positions
of making sacrifices and going
nowhere really and needing
to escape, a film deep
and philosophical which
one could learn life lessons
from.

But, he counters, this movie
teaches one not to drink too
much, but only in moderation,
or else mayhem ensues.

You have not yet learned
that lesson, she replies.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2013 9:57 am

    A very clever ending to the poem…enjoyed it…thanks for the morning smiles.

  2. Dr. Fuzz permalink
    June 11, 2013 11:17 am

    I find it pretty funny and also confusing how the French use so many English words (especially with movie titles). I come from Quebec in Canada and I’ll never forget going to France and having people talk to me about ”Stahrrrr Wahrzzzz” when I was used to the translated version of the Star Wars title in Quebec called ”La Guerre des Étoiles”.

    Lovely poem, by the way!

    • June 11, 2013 4:54 pm

      Okay, so I’m that much of a geek that I copied the French for Star Wars and pasted it into Google Translate so I could hear the nice lady’s voice say the phrase for me. The French version doesn’t sound menacing at all. Thanks for writing me the memory!

  3. goanolimits permalink
    June 12, 2013 2:13 am

    We have a name for Hangover it’s “gueule de bois”

    • June 12, 2013 5:47 am

      Aha! Thank you! I pasted this also in Google Translate so I could hear the pronunciation. And I split the words so I could get the literal translation. Leave it to the French to have a wonderfully poetic phrase for it: “mouth of wood.” Thanks!

Leave a Reply

