Skip to content

The economics of poetry

June 7, 2013

No
one
makes money from writing poetry,
she said. Except
for Walt Whitman. And
he only uses his profits for
beard moisturizers and
trims at the salon.

You couldn’t be more wrong,
I replied. Surely,
he gives quite a bit of money to
environmental organizations
and natural parks so the plants
and animals can flourish without
being bulldozed over. And besides,
what about Pablo Neruda?

He probably makes money
as well, she said, but he
spends it all on flowers
for every pretty woman
he meets.

I bet the ladies prefer
his clean-shaven cheeks to Whitman,
even with a
moisturized and trimmed beard.
But not to worry. I won’t
quit my day job.
Poetry will be on the side,
whispering to me from alleys
to walk a little slower on this
crowded city sidewalk.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2013 6:28 am

    very nice piece. I especially liked the juxtaposition (and slight irony/contrast) of

    ‘the whispering to me from alleys
    to walk a little slower on this
    crowded city sidewalK.”

  2. June 7, 2013 6:30 am

    To the dialogue about the money that poetry generates and what poets do with it. (sorry – I didn’t get to finish – as somehow i hit enter before i got to type the last part). Randy

  3. June 7, 2013 11:27 am

    Another delightful verse…writing poetry for profit reminds me of that line …”when my rich uncle gets out of the poor house…” šŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2013 4:20 pm

      I wasn’t familiar with the line, so I had to look it up. It certainly fits!

  4. June 7, 2013 11:52 am

    Very well put. This is it.

Leave a Reply

