Skip to content

Sting

April 18, 2013

When I first saw the photo prompt for this week’s Friday Fictioneers, I thought it was coral but then learned it’s a wasp’s nest instead. And so, I went with a sting. Not sure if this piece is fiction, maybe closer to a prose poem.

Wasp nest on pebbles

The sting jolts in a tiny lightning bolt searing through you, throwing open your eyelid shutters, internal organs shuddering with the desirefire of the idea that zips from the brain’s pollencloud in various directions of possibilities, each in turn zipping to curious other possibilities, and details around you become sharper, more vibrant, more connected, and you rush to paper to write, draw, paint it down, as fast as the fingers can capture it, agonizingly slow compared with the soaring possibilities and connections—but still the creation grows and takes shape, unfolding atfirst uncertain and doubtful wings, then launching into wondrous flight.

 


Friday Fictioneers prompt given by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. For other stories inspired by this photo, click here.
Photo copyright Janet Webb
Story copyright Dave Williams

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2013 5:20 am

    Dear Dave.
    I’ve felt that sting on more than one occasion. Well written description of the mind of a writer. You stung me where I live ;).
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  2. April 18, 2013 7:48 am

    Great stuff. Probably inspires creativity for a short burst, but there’s always the let down.

  3. April 18, 2013 8:07 am

    Vivid description of what drives us to our keyboards every week for FF as well as elsewhere.

    janet

  4. April 18, 2013 11:55 am

    The sting of a creative idea is the only kind of sting I like. The phrasing captured the excitement and time pressure too.

  5. April 18, 2013 12:23 pm

    Like what you did with this visual prompt…well crafted piece.

  6. April 18, 2013 1:00 pm

    I like it as prose, but I think it could be easily shaped into a poem too.
    I agree that you describe the process of a blooming idea quite well.

    No encyclopedias this week…Think I’ll wait for daylight before opening that door!
    Thanks for visiting.

  7. April 18, 2013 3:48 pm

    The ideas that burn in our minds certainly can resemble a sting. Hard to think i might like a sting the way I do writing a story or other post.

  8. Mystikel permalink
    April 18, 2013 4:33 pm

    I like this take. So true! Though usually I would tend to the sting first while crafting how I would write it up in my head.

  9. April 18, 2013 7:15 pm

    The sting could lead you anywhere…fiction or prose, it doesn’t matter. LOL you could write an awful lot if awfully stung by an awful wasp! 😉

  10. April 18, 2013 7:51 pm

    Loved the building up of the adrenaline. I could feel the excitement mounting.
    Denmother

  11. April 18, 2013 9:07 pm

    a very innovative use of the prompt

  12. April 18, 2013 10:48 pm

    this is such a great take on the prompt, very different. and your words really pulled me in. great job. 🙂

  13. April 19, 2013 3:14 am

    ‘creative’ use of the prompt !

  14. April 19, 2013 3:17 am

    Great take on the prompt. Seems like a long time since I felt that ‘sting’. 😦

  15. April 19, 2013 4:13 am

    Very unique take 🙂

  16. April 19, 2013 9:00 am

    This is impressive stuff and sounds fantastic read aloud (although I took a sneaky breath half way through or I’d have been blue faced at the end!). Very poetic.

    • April 19, 2013 4:12 pm

      That’s really cool that you read it out loud. Thanks for your kind words!

  17. April 21, 2013 1:10 am

    I love when that happens! This is dizzy with creativity. Your description vibrates!

  18. April 21, 2013 8:45 am

    Love it.. Sometimes you just have that sting… And usually it turns so much better

  19. April 22, 2013 7:58 pm

    I think we have all been here and done this.

  20. April 22, 2013 8:15 pm

    That’s a great, frustrating feeling, when your fingers can’t keep up with the inspiration bursting in your mind. You captured the feeling well.

Leave a Reply

