Skip to content

Red light district

March 28, 2013

Red light red light,
car lights slowly
gliding up the highway:

       early hour rising
to rush (oh, we wish
we were rushing) hour
to work hours to
happy hour (we’re not
rushing, but it flies by)
to

       red light red light
in the twilight
to dinner hour to
sleep hours
to

       red light red light
in a string of stopped
lights as we inch
forward.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 5:33 am

    Lovely poem. Our urban mundane life so simply written. Perfect!

  2. April 3, 2013 3:34 pm

    Have you thought about taking part in NaPoWriMo? You should.

    • April 4, 2013 5:44 am

      I hadn’t heard about NaPoWriMo, so I had to look it up. Sounds along the same line as the November Novel Writing Month — which also has a funky fly cool acronym, too. I like the idea of posting something everyday, and I’ll probably give it a shot sometime. I’m going to skip NaPoWriMo, but maybe I’ll pick another month for tearing into some poetry. Thanks for letting me know about the project!

Leave a comment