Skip to content

Ambidextrous

May 13, 2011

Ambidextrous rings cartoon

From yesterday’s birthday poem to a cartoon of AMBIDEXTROUS rings on two fists. Inspired by the LOVE and HATE rings worn by Radio Raheem (Bill Nunn) in Spike Lee’s Do The Right Thing. YouTube has a video of Radio explaining the interaction of the two, the story of left hand and right hand, of good and evil. I’m not ambidextrous, but I’m impressed by people who are. Shirt available here.

74 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 9:48 am

    I considered myself left-handed for the longest time, but apparently I am ambidextrous!

  2. May 13, 2011 9:55 am

    Thanks for sharing. I’m almost completely ambidextrous but prefer my left for writing and right hand for throwing a ball and sports. I can use either really but they feel more natural with certain ones. Love the illustration.

  3. May 13, 2011 9:58 am

    Super cool illustration.

    Ambidextrous people freak me out.

    ‘Nuff said.

    😉

  4. May 13, 2011 10:31 am

    I’m digging the bacon and eggs too!

  5. May 13, 2011 10:55 am

    Ha, cool!

  6. May 13, 2011 11:57 am

    love to see this. I am ambidextrous, and when people see me using my left hand for eating, they get confused. I want all of you to try something. I discovered that Leonardo-da-vinci wrote from his left hand- from right to left. try that and you’ll be surprised that even you can do it. the good part is that the writing is not readable , but becomes very clear in front of a mirror, or if u turn the page and see it against light.
    Love you for the post.

    • May 13, 2011 4:08 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting… I had read that Da Vinci was left-handed and wrote backwards. I’ve never given it a try — but I’ll have to give it a shot and see how it goes. Thanks!

  7. Anita G. permalink
    May 13, 2011 12:41 pm

    i’m ambidextrous….but i’m used to write with my left hand. 🙂

  8. May 13, 2011 1:01 pm

    …homage to Night of the Hunter (1955) Directed by Charles Laughton.

    • May 13, 2011 4:10 pm

      I haven’t seen the movie yet, but thankfully Google images has pics of Robert Mitchum with LOVE and HATE tattooed on his fingers. I didn’t realize the idea started back then. Thanks for the note!

  9. May 13, 2011 1:41 pm

    Reminds me of the Pogues album cover Peace and Love. Its not rings but its a great picture.

    • May 13, 2011 4:15 pm

      Great album cover — I hadn’t seen that one before. Another tactic of tattooing fingers, like Mitchum in Night of the Hunter. Lovin’ the comments — I’m learning about cultural references today.

  10. May 13, 2011 2:36 pm

    Thanks for sharing!

  11. anonnickus permalink
    May 13, 2011 3:49 pm

    There must be a palindrome to describe this affliction or talent or there should be one. I would think that one who is would know. I am not but I love the graphic description above.

  12. May 13, 2011 4:11 pm

    I guess I fall into the “almost” ambidextrous category also. I petty much only eat & write left handed but use my right hand or a mix for everything else.

  13. May 13, 2011 5:07 pm

    That would be cool. I’m so left handed, I barely do anything right handed.

  14. May 13, 2011 6:31 pm

    I am not above lying and saying I am ambidextrous.

  15. May 13, 2011 10:16 pm

    I’m mainly right-handed, but I fall under the almost ambidextrous category as well! I write with my right hand (and now starting to use my left) and do everything else with my left.

    Nice post! Love your blog. 🙂

  16. May 14, 2011 12:51 am

    the eggs and bacon skull t-shirt thing is hilarious 🙂

    • May 14, 2011 4:29 am

      Thanks! I’m proud of that shirt design. It’s had some great responses!

  17. May 14, 2011 1:16 am

    I’d give my right arm to be ambidextrous.

  18. May 14, 2011 2:33 am

    I think with a little practice, we ALL could be ambidextrous. While most of us don’t have the time nor the inclination, I think it is quite possible.

    With Love and Gratitude,

    Jeremiah

    • May 14, 2011 4:31 am

      Could be. I’ve tried drawing and writing with my right hand, and the results are comical. So I’ve always gone back to my left hand. But maybe with practice, I could be more ambidextrous. Thanks for stopping by!

    • May 14, 2011 6:23 am

      I agree. I used to practice writing with my left hand during a first year uni class that was boring just so I wouldn’t fall asleep. My left hand writing is quite good. It just looks like I’m about 10, which I think is at least better than a lot of people and especially a doctor’s writing 🙂

  19. May 14, 2011 8:07 am

    🙂

  20. Khaye permalink
    May 14, 2011 8:41 am

    nice cartoon! =) i’m sort of ambidextrous. i write with my right hand but my left hand is stronger when it comes to opening jars or bottles.

  21. Optimisme permalink
    May 14, 2011 10:09 am

    I am ambidextrous too. I write with my right hand but cook with left hand :). Congratulations on being freshly pressed.

  22. May 14, 2011 10:50 am

    I’m ambidextrous too. I used to do many thing with the right hand, but I write and draw with the left hand, and I do a lot of small things with the left hand. Also, when I read a magazine, I do always a first sight from the end and then I begin to read it from the first page 😛

  23. thor27 permalink
    May 14, 2011 11:21 am

    You may of necessity be forced to be ambidexterous. Some pretty good comments here.

    Check out todays blog. http://thor27.wordpress.com/ The Reason Sarah Palin will get my vote for President of the United States.

  24. May 14, 2011 1:16 pm

    Me too.
    I write with right and play with left hand.

  25. rft3 permalink
    May 14, 2011 11:42 pm

    I’m naturally right handed but I put the computer mouse on the left side (even when I’m using a public computer). I also tend to eat with my left and open doors with my left.

    I’m always amazed at how left handed people have to adapt to a right handed world. Especially in music shops, when lefties want to try out guitars.

  26. May 15, 2011 4:15 am

    am ambidextrous too, its cool, bro 🙂

  27. May 15, 2011 6:58 am

    My kids haven’t decided which hand they are going to use yet.

  28. May 15, 2011 7:30 am

    Nice! Simple but interesting! 🙂 Keep sharing more artworks. Congrats on being FP!

  29. May 15, 2011 12:55 pm

    nice!

  30. May 15, 2011 1:41 pm

    Right on, groovy, far out….your site and topic! Congrats on FP. Keeping with the 70’s genre…love your show, man. Seriously. Ok, I’m ambidextrous and my family is proof it’s genetic. Its funny how we lefties or ambies don’t realise how lucky and easy we have it when it comes to doing things until we see someone working so hard at something or doing it awkwardly. That was me. Now, for some time I relise how easily and I can do things compared to “righters”. The other day I was hammering a project and a dude watching said “wow, look at you hammering left-handed”. The funny part was I looked down & saw my hand and said in the same mini-awe tone as his “wow, I am”. then his look was “blondes”, so I said no you don’t understand, I can use the hand that gets the least in the way, automatically, so I don’t notice which one I’m using.” I was surprised because, While I write left-handed, my strongest arm is my right, the one I usually use at work. They do get jealous when they see me “cutting in” on a paint job. I can reach up & cut-in on both sides of the ladder, so I have to get down & move ladder only half the times they do. It can be pretty cool. Years ago, a girlfriend asked in awe…’how are you doing that!?’ putting on mascara, in the car mirror, of course, switching hands, each hand for each eye, piece of cake…She was in her mirror all bent out of shape, arm upside down, etc. , another noticed how I could paint my fingernails on both hands so easily, etc….so sometimes it may have seemed a disadvantage, turns out to be a huge bonus. In first grade, my teacher tried to make me write right-handed. My mother had to actually threaten calling the schoolboard to make her stop! this was 1964 though when we were still considered witches, I guess. I am pretty clairvoyant, lol. GREAT STORY and LOVE YOUR SHIRTS

    • May 16, 2011 4:35 am

      Sounds like you easily jump from hand to hand in doing things — without thinking about it. I like that you were also surprised about hammering using your left hand. Great examples of how you’ve switched hands effortlessly to accomplish things, from hammering to painting to putting on makeup. To me, that would be the bonus of being ambidextrous. Thanks for your great comment!

  31. May 15, 2011 2:08 pm

    I am ambisinistrous. Clumsy with both hands.

    • May 16, 2011 4:35 am

      Good one! I like the word and your meaning for it. Making up words is creative fun.

  32. annaxuanruan permalink
    May 15, 2011 2:48 pm

    haha, I am ambidextrous! But not by nature! Basically, everyone is a bit ambidextrous (else we would have like… A SERIOUS PROBLEM). I’m basically a left handed kid, but my parents failed to make me a right handed… I can write with both, but I still prefer left… and am not able to do anything else with the left hand…

    Some activities can help you be ambidextrous –> piano, any kind of music, DRUMMING, martial arts, something that need both hands to be coordinated.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • May 16, 2011 4:36 am

      Good point about the tasks that encourage use of both hands — I agree that those activities would raise the skill level on both hands (or legs, with martial arts). Thanks!

  33. May 15, 2011 3:57 pm

    how does one know if they are ambidextrous?

    • May 16, 2011 4:38 am

      My thought would be along the lines of another commenter, nursenan. From her comment, it sounds like she easily switches hands to do things. To me, that’s ambidextrous.

  34. risewiththesun permalink
    May 15, 2011 7:03 pm

    this is so great! I love it.

  35. Larry Mengel permalink
    May 15, 2011 8:48 pm

    I write with pencil or pen with my left hand, chalk with my right hand, eat switching between hands. I kick a football with my right foot. I switch hit in baseball, which unnerves the pitcher. I am the tent master for my Lions Club. Chains are used to fasten the poles to the stakes. My guys could not learn to tie the chains onto the stake the way I showed them with my two handed method. Then one day I watched one guy put the chain, that he should have held in his left hand, in his left arm pit. Then I realized that what I was doing was impossible for him. We came with a different method that requires only one hand.

    • May 16, 2011 4:40 am

      I remember awkwardly writing on the chalkboard with my left hand — otherwise, I would erase words after writing them, with my left hand rubbing against the chalkboard! Good story about learning how to tie the chains to the stake using both hands. Sounds like you came up with a great solution for you, but it had to be modified for others that weren’t as good with both hands.

  36. May 15, 2011 9:55 pm

    I’m not either, unfortunately 😦 But great illustration!

  37. myfilthyroom permalink
    May 16, 2011 3:57 am

    I used to be an ambidextrous when I was young, don’t know what happened now. I guess I kinda enjoyed using my right hand more than my left.

  38. May 16, 2011 5:49 am

    It is a great talent to be ambidextrous…

  39. May 16, 2011 6:16 am

    I can write with both hands and use a bat in either hand. I find though that if I want to write something deep and meaningful I think better writing with my left hand, but if it is to do with numbers or something more practical I can only think properly while writing with my right hand.

    • May 16, 2011 3:05 pm

      That’s interesting about you writing different types of things with different hands… sounds like a left brain/right brain approach.

  40. May 16, 2011 7:48 am

    Most left-handed people start to become ambidextrous earlier on than right-handed people right? That’s what I noticed since I’m a lefty.

    • May 16, 2011 3:20 pm

      Good question — I’m really not sure if lefties become ambidextrous earlier than righties. But I would wonder if lefties need to adapt to more things oriented toward right-handed people, such as stick shifts in cars behind to the right of the driver (in U.S. cars, at least).

  41. May 16, 2011 9:25 am

    why go thru all this pain n great lengths just to use both hands?…it ain’t even about using both hands.. i know the Left is Love n the Right is Hate. Philosophy n Status quo, Imagination n Reality, Chaos n Sanity, Art n Craft, Warm n Cold, Liberal n Conservative, Mind n Body, Spirit n Soul, the Paradox lies between, on the periphery, Order, Purity, timeless , rhetoric, blueprint, ……. white, quest, truth, …… please contribute. LovetaH.

  42. May 16, 2011 2:10 pm

    I really like your illustration! There’s a joke about being ambidextrous that my friend used to say as I’m ambidextrous… Lol!

  43. May 17, 2011 4:59 am

    good illustration. Smart joke 🙂

  44. May 17, 2011 2:16 pm

    ‘Sometimes love and hate are horns on the same goat…’ Jean Marsh, The Vikings

  45. May 17, 2011 7:11 pm

    Being a southpaw has always been a quirk of mine that I cherish. Now you’re making being ambidextrous cool? : P

  46. May 20, 2011 5:01 am

    You may of necessity be forced to be ambidexterous. Some pretty good comments here.

    Check out todays blog. http://thor27.wordpress.com/ The Reason Sarah Palin will get my vote for President of the United States.

  47. Ahmed permalink
    May 23, 2011 10:27 pm

    cool

  48. May 25, 2011 9:50 pm

    I’m ambidextrous too. I used to do many thing with the right hand, but I write and draw with the left hand, and I do a lot of small things with the left hand. Also, when I read a magazine, I do always a first sight from the end and then I begin to read it from the first page

  49. May 26, 2011 4:43 am

    My thought would be along the lines of another commenter, nursenan. From her comment, it sounds like she easily switches hands to do things. To me, that’s ambidextrous.

  50. May 28, 2011 1:52 pm

    I was gonna mention “Night of the Hunter”, too. Written by West Virginian, Davis Grubb and filmed in my home state of W.V., too! Excellent book and movie!
    But to return to “handedness”, I draw/write with right hand, but when doing athletic things, I always pitched, tossed, shot a basketball, swung a bat, left-handed. So I’m ambidextrous but in that weird way. Cool post! 🙂

    • May 29, 2011 4:43 am

      It’s neat that you have done different things with your hands — from drawing and writing with one hand, to sports stuff with the other hand. I’ve found the many comments from readers very interesting, as some people are similar to you in performing different tasks with different hands. Pretty wild how we develop skills this way. Thanks for stopping by!

  51. July 23, 2011 5:26 am

    I’m ambidextrous! Well at least when I was a kid. These days, I only brush my teeth with my left hand. The rest I use my right.

  52. October 9, 2012 12:35 am

    Reblogged this on Jill Davis Blogs.

Leave a Reply

