Skip to content

March Flowers Bring… Thoughts of Spring

March 29, 2011

We saw a little (tiny more like it) bit of snow here in Maryland this past weekend. But spring is here,  as we’re seeing more green, and the flowering trees are starting to bloom. The Cherry Blossom Festival started last weekend, and the trees are forecast to peak this week. Tons of tourists and locals descend on the Tidal Basin next to the Thomas Jefferson Memorial. The trees are spectacular — it’s well worth a visit.

I haven’t made it to the cherry blossoms this year, but I’ve seen the spring flowers start to pop up. Nice to see the crocuses (or is it croci?) and the hyacinths. Here’s a few of the photos I’ve taken of these. I’ve enjoyed getting in close for a macro look. I don’t have a macro lens for my camera yet, but it’s something I’ll have to look into.

Crocus photo

Pink Hyacinth

Purple Hyacinth

Purple Hyacinth

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

