Skip to content

Narwhal’s Horn (poem 52)

December 31, 2010
tags: , ,

It’s my last post in 2010, and my year-long project has just a few weeks left. Have a great New Year’s everyone!



Narwhal’s Horn

How do you swim, curious narwhal,
without bonking into things?
Your horn looks quite tall,
sticking out of your head.
How do you avoid hitting belugas,
penguins, leopard seals,
and the occasional dolphin visiting from Tortuga?
If I had a horn on my forehead,
I’d bonk against walls and buildings
trees, school buses, and garden sheds.
I’d run into every single thing!
I can’t imagine all the holes in walls,
bumps, and bruises that would bring.

But…
what about the games I could play?
My friends could play ring toss,
tossing doughnuts would be A-okay.
Each landing on my horn would be neat,
and when a doughnut misses,
that’s one I get to eat!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 12:21 pm

    Such a fun verse to read…thanks for the smiles.

  2. Haley permalink
    April 19, 2012 10:45 am

    I love narwhals this poem made have a smile that went from ear to ear šŸ™‚

  3. March 7, 2013 7:39 am

    šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

