Skip to content

The Great Apple Fritter Escape (poem 36)

September 10, 2010
tags: , ,

My delicious apple fritter
broke away from captivity
of its box
and rushed for freedom.

Now my fritter is on the run
and I hunt it,
but it taunts me with Twitters
that it sends from wi-fi coffee cafés.
Its trail of ATM transactions
mocks me with
near misses.
Like the one in Atlanta
when I
narrowly caught up to him.
I noticed him at a wi-fi café
looking at a Bahamas website.
But my apple fritter
spotted my lurking shadow
and ran out the back kitchen door
into an alley,
and when I made it to the alley,
there were only the echoes of mean laughter.

The Bahamas website turned out
to be a ruse,
because my fritter next Twittered from
New Orleans as he had a date
with a powdered sugar beignet.
It was then I realized he had become
an Internet sensation,
and all of his fans
were rooting against me.

I decided that I am no match for my
delicious-looking apple fritter,
so I flew back home from New Orleans with
defeat hanging heavy on
my head.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 10:33 pm

    I’m still laughing at this one…such a delightful story and poem…I love the part about New Orleans date. 😉

Leave a Reply

