Skip to content

Giving painting a try

July 22, 2010
tags: ,

My daughters have been painting for several years, using their fingers, cotton balls, potato halves, leaves, and actually brushes. They’ve had a ton of fun, and their artwork has graced our walls. We’ve had many art exhibits in our home, with new stuff arriving often enough to keep the walls fresh. It’s great stuff, with vivid colors and imaginative subjects. Some remind me of fireworks. Some are abstracts that I find very well balanced. Take one element away, and the composition would look too heavy on one side. We’ve had paintings of turtles, flowers, houses, hippos, pigs, a giant chocolate bar … and so on.

I figured that I’d give painting a try. Maybe I looked at all the fun my daughters were having and thought I’d give it a whirl. The idea sounded neat, since I mostly use a computer to create. Sure, I sketch with a pencil. But painting would be a big step forward.

Wow. Paint is so amazingly different. Yeah, Adobe Illustrator has some helpful tools, and it’s nifty to draw with my Wacom tablet (that’s how I’ve created illustrations for cartoons on my blog and t-shirt designs). But paint? Much, much different. And it’s amazing to blend colors together.

Tree Painting

I gave acrylics and oils a shot on canvas. The little tree above is with acrylics.

What’s a good word for how painting has gone so far? Can’t think of just one. Enjoyable, challenging, meditative, frustrating at times, other times calming, exciting when something works out when I didn’t expect it.

Stars Over City Painting

I thought of Paul Klee when I painted this one, with a starry night descending on a city. I’ve been going to art museums for a long time, admiring the works of many different artists. But, until now, I never got around to painting — that is, after the art classes that probably stopped in middle school. I really like Klee’s use of color and the dream-like quality of his paintings.

Sunflower Painting

I thought of Vincent Van Gogh with this one. Hard not to think of Van Gogh when painting a sunflower, I guess. The guy was also good with color, and he was intense on how he applied paint, laying it on really thick.

Amazing, this painting stuff. I’m not going to try to post a new painting every week like I do with t-shirts, cartoons, and poems. I have plenty of deadlines already. But I’ll keep swiping brush to canvas and see what comes out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 10:10 pm

    The colors are amazing. I am painting through synesthesia which makes me see colors when I hear names and numbers. These colors I transform in paintings. Colors are my life.

Leave a Reply

