Skip to content

Popcorn Tree (poem 16)

April 30, 2010
tags: , ,

Friday fun to hopefully make you smile…


Popcorn Tree
Popcorn Tree Illustration
I saw a movie last night,
and munched a big bowl of popcorn.
Saved one little bitty kernel under my pillow.
Is that bad?
Please don’t scorn the popcorn
that I saved for the morn.
‘Cause I’m gonna plant it.
Yup, plant it in the earthy dirt,
cover it up with more dirt,
water it every day,
then wait
   wait
      wait

There! didyouseethat?
A little sprout,
a light green baby sprout jutting out.
Then it grows
big bigger upupup
I measure it every day like when I stand against the wall
on my birthdays
and a new line marks how high I’m tall.
My popcorn plant grows into a tree,
now it’s much much taller than me.

Buds appear on the branches,
and when the sunlight gets good and hot,
   pop!pop!pop!
the kernel buds explode
   like firecrackers
into fluffy popcorn.
The most delicious thing you’ve ever tasted!

My dad buys land out in the country
and we plant lots and lots of kernels.
They grow into a popcorn orchard,
one…two… three…
a hundred twenty trees!
Now I get to eat all the popcorn I want,
and people drive from miles around
to eat as much as they please
from our magnificent popcorn trees!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 10:16 pm

    What fun and wonderfully imaginative poem…totally loved it!

Leave a Reply

