Skip to content

They Fly (poem 7)

February 26, 2010

My week celebrating the 2010 Winter Olympics wraps up today with my normal Friday posting of a poem. A poem about the Olympics? Does it fit? Well, my poem isn’t as goofy as usual, but what the hey. Hope you enjoy.


They Fly

They fly
   on the ski jump
They fly
   on the half-pipe
They fly
   on the mountain slope
They fly
   on the icy half-tunnel
They fly
   on the ice rink.

They fly
on skis
on snowboards
on ice skates
on bobsleds
on the fastest sleds you ever saw.

They fly and race and spin and reach heights
      beyond my own possibility
   all I can do is
stand on my jealous feet
    and stare in awe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

